Purchase of AmScope Stereo Microscope with LED Ring Light

2016.03.28.

(Click for enlarged image)

I always wanted to have my own stereo microscope ever since I used one in the lab of UNSM. Then finally, after researching a quite a bit, and asking people around, I decided to make a purchase of AmScope Stereo Microscope plus LED Ring Light. At this point, I LOVE IT, and I cannot wait to observe more and more of my insect collections.

The microscope I purchased is the AmScope SM-1TSZ-V203. Its magnification is between 3.5x to 90x. It doesn’t equipped any lights, and since I wanted to get extra light ANYWAY, it actually was good thing that the microscope didn’t have a electric cord on it (my desk wouldn’t clean if I had two cords for microscope and LED ring light). The microscope is trinocular, which enables the camera-connection with an appropriate camera-to-microscope adapter. Since likely no good company ever sells Sony NEX adapters for anything, I had to order from eBay, shipped from China.

I made a purchase of this fascinating microscopes for: (1) observe small insects; (2) genitalia; (3) photography purposes.

(1) Observe small insects
It is really difficult to observe and see what the insect is when they are just so small to do so with naked eyes. Especially when there are multiple species generally have quite a similar appearance. Up until now, I had to take several shots with different focus depth with my camera+macro lens, and process it in computer to stack images into one single file with all-focused image. THEN observing the specimens digitally.

(2) Genitalia
Sometimes, genitalia is the only feature to key out a species. As I mentioned above in Reason #1, I had to do a focus stack image process to observe the specimen digitally, I had to observe the genitalia in that same way as well, which is time-taking process. To extract, clean out, mount, observe, do this and that, I definitely needed a help of microscopes.

(3) Photography purpose
My camera… is very nice tech. However, as my camera being mirrorless, meaning not having enough lenses. Sony recently released the 90 mm macro lens, and up until now they only had 30 mm, which is not the BEST LENS for taking photographs in insects or any live things outdoor. Dead beetles in indoor? it’s alright, but not the best thing. I don’t know why they even made 30 mm macro lens first instead of 60 mm or 90 mm. With my Sony NEX-6 plus 30 mm macro lens was not enough to take a good plate image or doing any other macrophotography, so I thought having a microscope, that is capable of connecting cameras would definitely help my study.

I will update the post when I receive the package of adapter and upload sample images in the future, with dates on the bottom.

Leave a Reply

